Irish scholars affirm academic boycott of Israel

The following letter, by a number of Irish academics, was published in the Irish Times on November 4, 2015:

Sir, – As scholars associated with Irish institutions of higher education, north and south, we are deeply disturbed by Israel”s ongoing illegal occupation of Palestinian land, the intolerable human rights violations that it inflicts on all sections of the Palestinian people, and its apparent determination to resist any feasible settlement. We are also disturbed by the involvement of Israeli higher education institutions in Israel”s military and security industries, by EU institutional involvement in funding Israeli research, and by the research and development collaboration between Irish and Israeli higher-education institutions.

Responding to the appeal from Palestinian civil society, we therefore declare that we will not accept invitations to visit Israeli academic institutions; act as referees in any of their processes; participate in conferences funded, organised or sponsored by them, or otherwise co-operate with them.

We will, however, continue to work with our Israeli colleagues in their individual capacities and at the same time put in place strategies of political and practical support for Palestinian universities, academics and students.

We will maintain this position until the state of Israel complies with international law and respects universal principles of human rights. – Yours, etc,


Dublin Institute

of Technology;


National College

of Art and Design;



Dublin City University;


University of Limerick;


Dublin 6, and

Prof Gerry Kearns, Maynooth University Prof Kathleen Lynch, UCD Prof Damian McCormack, UCD Prof Terrence McDonough, NUIG Prof Karen McElrath, Fayetteville State University, USA Prof Cahal McLaughlin, Queen”s University Belfast Prof John Pinkerton, QUB Dr John Kelly, Emeritus Professor, UCD Prof Sam Porter, QUB Dr Helena Sheehan, Emeritus Professor, DCU John Waddell, Emeritus Professor, NUIG Eyad Abu-Khiran, University and College Union, QUB Dr Barbara Bradby (retired), TCD Elaine Bradley, PhD candidate, TCD Dr Audrey Bryan, St Patrick”s College, DCU Dr James Carr, UL Dr Michael Carr, DIT Dr Justin Carville, IADT Teresa Cash, St Mary”s University College, Belfast Dr Maurice Coakley, Griffith College Dublin Dr Steve Coleman, Maynooth University Dr Peter Collins, St Mary”s University College, Belfast Dr Eileen Connolly, DCU Dr Catherine Conlon, TCD Magdi Rashied, DIT Eddie Conlon, DIT Dr Ciaran Cosgrove (retired), TCD Dr Colin Coulter, Maynooth University Dr Laurence Cox, Maynooth University Deirdre Cree, St Mary”s University College, Belfast Ann Curran, DIT Dr Laurence Davis, UCC Dr Sharae Deckard, UCD Miriam Delaney, DIT Dr Kevin Farrell, IT Blanchardstown Dr Paul Farrell, IT Tallaght Gerry Farrelly, DIT Dr Brian Feeney, St Mary”s University College, Belfast Dr Jude Lal Fernando, TCD Dr Mikael Fernstrí¶m, UL Dr Andrew Finlay, TCD Barry Finnegan, Griffith College Dublin Mike FitzGibbon, UCC Dr Camilla Fitzsimons, Maynooth University Richard Fitzsimons, DIT Dr Angela Flynn, UCC Dr Michael Foley, DIT Dr Oona Frawley, Maynooth University Dr Paul Michael Garrett, NUIG Dr Brian Hanley, Historian Martin Hanrahan, DIT Tony Hayes, DIT Dermot Healy (retired), DIT Roddy Hegarty, Library & Archive Director (Armagh) Goretti Horgan, Ulster University Dr David Hughes, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland Dr Mariya Ivancheva, UCD Celia Keenan (retired), St Patrick”s College Drumcondra Dr Sinéad Kennedy, Maynooth University Ian Kilroy, DIT Dr Heather Laird, UCC Dr David Landy, TCD Dr John Lannon, UL Zoe Lawlor, UL Dr Luciana Lolich, UCD Madeleine Lombard, St Mary”s University College, Belfast Eibhlí­n Mhic Aoidh, St Mary”s University College, Belfast Dr Martin McCabe, DIT Dr Conor Mc Carthy, Maynooth University Dr Des McGuinness (retired), DCU Simon McGuinness, DIT Denise McKee, St Mary”s University College, Belfast Dr Elaine McLaughlin, St Mary”s University College, Belfast Brian McMahon, Cork IT Noirin MacNamara, PhD candidate, QUB Dr Bill McSweeney, TCD Dr Martin Maguire, Dundalk Institute of Technology Dr Martin Marjoram, IT Tallaght Dr Chandana Mathur, Maynooth University Dr Thomas Murray, UCD Dr Yoga Nathan, UL Maeve O”Brien, PhD Candidate, Ulster University Dr Eithne O”Connell, DCU David O”Connor, DIT Dr Maureen O”Connor, UCC Dr Tom O”Connor, Cork IT Tom O”Connor, DIT Dr Hugh O”Donnell, DIT Dr Micheal O”Flynn, UCD Dr Féilim í“ hAdhmaill, UCC Dr Theresa O”Keefe, UCD Daithí­ í“ Madáin, NUIG Dr Eoin O”Mahony, St Patrick”s College, Drumcondra Dr Jacqui O”Riordan, UCC Dr Sinead Pembroke, TCD Dr Michael Pierse, QUB Dr Susan Power, Griffith College Dublin John Rafferty, St Mary”s University College, Belfast Dr John Reynolds, Maynooth University Ellen Reynor, St. Patrick”s College, DCU Dr Paola Rivetti, DCU Jim Roche, DIT, Chair Academics for Palestine Maggie Ronayne, NUIG Dr Colin Sage, UCC Dr Birgit Schippers, St Mary”s University College, Belfast Paul Sheehan (retired), former Director of Library Services, DCU Dr Fintan Sheerin, TCD Domhnall Sheridan, DIT Ailbhe Smyth (retired), UCD Dr Robbie Smyth Griffith College Dublin Stephen Stewart, Mater Dei Inst./DCU Dr Andy Storey, UCD Peter Tansey, UCD Dr Gavan Titley, Maynooth University Dr Antonio Toral, DCU Theresa Urbainczyk, UCD Ciaran Walsh, St Mary”s University College, Belfast


Comments are closed.