CSQ Passes a Resolution in Support of Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions

SPHR and Tadamon! Congratulate the CSQ for Passing a Resolution in
Support of Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions (BDS) campaign against
the Apartheid state of Israel.

On June 28th, the Centrale des Syndicats du Québec (CSQ), which
encompasses 11 federations that represent 230 unions with over 160,000
members, adopted a resolution in support of the BDS against apartheid

Solidarity for Palestinian Human Rights (SPHR), representing 17 groups
across Canada with over 40,000 members, along with the Montreal-based
Middle East solidarity collective Tadamon!, would like to congratulate
the CSQ leadership, components and membership for this courageous and
historic stance in solidarity with the Palestinian people suffering
under the Israeli policies of apartheid, occupation and siege.

The resolution was presented by Ms. Monique Pauzé, president of the
Champlain Teachers Union. The hard work of Ms. Pauzé and the
principled stance of many Quebec teachers who were appalled by
Israel”s deliberate targeting of educational institutions in last
January”s Israeli assault on Gaza conveys hope to Palestinian
civilians and affirms that the world will not forget them.

We would like to also acknowledge Rezeq Faraj, member of SPHR’s Board
of Directors, who’s work for the past 40 years in building solidarity
between Teachers and Labor Unions in Quebec and Palestinians living
under Israeli Apartheid lead to this victory for the BDS movement in

The CSQ adoption of the BDS campaign against Apartheid Israel comes on
the heels of similar resolutions being passed in Quebec by the
following unions:

March 14th 2009, Fédération Autonome du Collégial (FAC) representing
Quebec”s College teachers and staff.

April 18th 2008, Canadian Union of Postal Workers (CUPW-STTP)
representing Canada”s and Quebec”s postal workers.

June 2nd 2007, Fédération nationale des enseignantes et enseignants du
Québec (FNEEQ) representing Quebec”s school teachers and staff.

April 27th 2007, Association pour une Solidarité Syndicale í‰tudiante
(ASSí‰) representing Quebec college students.

SPHR and Tadamon! would like to encourage the public to send letters
of congratulations and thanks to both the CSQ and the Champlain
Teachers Union. Their contacts are attached below.

Please also CC any correspondence you have to our email sphr.national@gmail.com

E-mail of Mr. Parent, CSQ president: parent.rejean[at]csq.qc.net
E-mail of Ms. Pauzé, president of Champlain Teachers Union:
E-mail for Mr. Faraj SPHR BoD member: rfaraj[at]videotron.ca

Comments are closed.